Join our NO SPAM mailing list for the latest news

(Note- The music player at the bottom of the page can be activated at any time to listen to full songs.)

The Musicians

Dear Musical Tastemaker and / or Connoisseur,

If you've heard of me at all, you probably know me as Steve.  When the time came to release an album of my original music, I was faced with the dilemma of choosing a "stage name".  If I released the CD as Steve Austin, I ran the risk of being confused with actor-turned-wrestler "Stone Cold" Steve Austin or the "Six Million Dollar Man" of 1970s television fame.  Given the name recognition already enjoyed by the "other" Steve Austins, I had no choice but to adapt another moniker.  I briefly considered the unabbreviated Stephen Austin, but anybody who's ever been to Texas can see the potential for confusion there.  Through the process of elimination, I have now joined the ranks of "the men with three names", an elite club primarily occupied by serial killers and musicians with the middle names "Bob", "Joe", and "Ray". 

I’m proud to present my debut solo album, A Bakersfield Dozen. The songs contained in this CD run the gamut from old-timey string music through raw Telecaster-laden classic country to down-and-dirty Americana roots rock. I’ve even included a children’s song (recorded at home with my grandson) and an acoustic cover of the Beatles’ “Baby’s In Black”. 

About the tortured artists who appear on “A Bakersfield Dozen”:
When I set out to make an album of my own songs, I sought out the help of musicians I’ve long admired on the L.A. roots music scene. I was gratified and somewhat amazed when they all agreed to participate. A year later, these people are not only my musical heroes, but I’m proud to call them my friends. Every time I listen to these songs, I’m blown away by how good they make me sound. Without exception, the players on this recording displayed incredible talent, professionalism, graciousness, generosity, support, and patience. Words cannot express my gratitude. I only wish I had the money to pay them what they’re really worth…
Marty Rifkin- Pedal and lap steel, dobro, and electric guitar (Bruce Springsteen, Tom Petty, Jewel, Glen Campbell, Elton John, Dwight Yoakam, Shawn Mullins, Uncle Kracker, Weird Al Yankovic, LeAnn Rimes, Leah West, etc…)
Paul Marshall– Bass and background vocals (I See Hawks in L.A., Strawberry Alarm Clock, George Highfill, Kathy Robertson, Hank Thompson, Johnny Rodriguez, Johnny Lee, Rose Maddox, Jeannie Pruitt, etc…)
Shawn Nourse– Drums and percussion (I See Hawks in L.A., Dwight Yoakam, Garth Hudson, Rosie Flores, Big Jay McNeely, Mike Stinson, Tonya Watts, James Intveld, etc…)
Teresa James– Background vocals (Reba McIntire, Levon Helm, Delbert McClinton, Bonnie Raitt, Marcia Ball, Tommy Castro, Asleep at the Wheel, Lee Roy Parnell, Randy Newman, Walter Trout, etc…)
Brantley Kearns – Fiddle (Dwight Yoakam, Rick Shea, I See Hawks in L.A., Dave Alvin, Billy Joe & Eddy Shaver, Mike Ness, Katy Moffatt, Big Sandy, Ray Campi, etc…)
Skip Edwards– Piano, accordion (Johnny Rivers, Keith Moon, The Monkees, Chris Hillman, Dave Alvin, Dwight Yoakam, Gene Clark, Roger McGuinn, Lucinda Williams, Michelle Shocked, Eddie Money, Desert Rose Band, Buck Owens, Steve Forbert, Rosie Flores, Flaco Jimenez, Joe Ely, Bastard Sons of Johnny Cash, Tom Russell, Jim Lauderdale, etc…)
Dave Currall - Electric guitar on "Dance With No Pants" and "The Cage".  Dave's been my friend and musical co-conspirator since the 8th grade.  Our first professional collaboration was a duo called "Dueces Wild", formed about 35 years ago (we were barely old enough to get into bars).  Since then, we've worked together in SaddleTramp, Wingus Holler, the Hooverville Rounders, and a bunch of other bands whose names I can't recall.  Humble guy that he is, Dave doesn't have a web site.  Nonetheless, he's one of the finest guitarists I've ever had the pleasure of working with.
Kayleb Kennelley - Second vocal on "Bad Dog".  Kayleb is my grandson, and the absolute joy of my life.  He wasn't quite two years old when we recorded "Bad Dog" in the basement studio.  As of this writing, Kayleb is four years old with several more songs to his credit, and is a total chick magnet at pre-school.  I'm hoping he'll be the youngest person to ever have a BMI account.
Stephen David Austin (that's me!) - Lead vocals; electric and acoustic guitars; banjo on “Dance With No Pants”, “Back to Bakersfield”, and “Baby’s In Black”; baritone guitar on “MySpace”; tambourine on “Kansas Ain’t In Kansas Anymore”; handclaps on “MySpace”.

1- Best Ex I Ever Had (Austin)
2- Heroes and Heroin (Austin)
3- The Cage (Austin)
4- Dance With No Pants (Austin)
5- Back to Bakersfield (Austin)
6- Kansas Ain’t In Kansas Anymore (Austin / Mayer)
7- The Day Buck Owens Died (Austin)
8- The Fat Kid (Austin)
9- Baby’s In Black (Lennon / McCartney)
10- MySpace (Austin)
11- Bad Dog (Austin) –(basement duet with my grandson, Kayleb )

All lyrics and music by Stephen David Austin / Published by Stephen David Austin (BMI)  except…

“Kansas Ain’t In Kansas Anymore”- lyrics by Stephen David Austin & Steven Mayer; music by Stephen David Austin / Published by Stephen David Austin (BMI)

“Baby’s In Black “- lyrics and music by John Lennon and Paul McCartney / Published by Sony-ATV Songs LLC (BMI, PRS)

Produced by Stephen David Austin (with liberal input from Marty Rifkin and libertarian input from Paul Marshall)

All songs were recorded and engineered by S.D.A., Paul Marshall, and Marty Rifkin at our respective studios.

All lead vocals except “Dance With No Pants” and “Bad Dog” were engineered and produced by Paul Marshall, who managed to get acceptable performances from my limited vocal capabilities without being a dick about it.

Mixed and mastered by Marty Rifkin in Santa Monica, CA.

I hope you enjoy the album, and really appreciate you taking the time to give it a listen. Without your support, I’m really screwed.


Stephen David Austin

(Note- The music player at the bottom of the page can be activated at any time to listen to full songs.)
(Note- The music player at the bottom of the page can be activated at any time to listen to full songs.)